Credit System

About the Credit System

The credit system used in the higher education system is based on class hours (i.e. theoretical or practical hours per week). 1.0 credit stands for each hour of lecture a week. The current credit system allocates a predetermined number of credit hours for courses. Most universities have converted their credit transfer systems to ECTS credits. This way, they could participate in such EU programs as SOCRATES-ERASMUS.

Bachelor’s level programmes consist of 240 ECTS, while two year Associate’s level programmes consist of 120 ECTS.

Graduate level of study consists of Master’s Degree and PhD/Doctorate Degree programmes. There are two types of Master’s programmes: with or without a thesis.

The Master’s programmes with a thesis have 120 ECTS and consist of a minimum of seven courses, one seminar course, and a thesis. The seminar course and thesis are non-credit and graded on a pass/fail basis. Non-thesis Master’s programmes have 90 ECTS and consist of a minimum of 10 courses and a non-credit semester project. The semester project is graded on a pass/fail basis.

PhD programmes have 240 ECTS and consist of a minimum of seven courses, passing a qualifying examination, preparing and defending a doctoral dissertation.

For Erasmus Exchange Students

Erasmus exchange students should take into account only the ECTS credits. The normal workload for a semester is 30 ECTS credits.

Restrictions, special conditions or prerequisites for courses do not apply to international exchange students. You must instead get the approval of your Department Erasmus Coordinator. It is very important that you consult with your Department Erasmus Coordinator prior to course selection.